Cheese and ham sandwhich

Certification of coagulants & dairy enzymes

Kosher, halal, vegetarian, organic & GMO free status

Today's consumer is ethnically diverse, environmentally conscious and value-driven. Dairy producers and ingredient suppliers must provide a diverse portfolio of products to meet customers’ needs. Coagulants & dairy enzymes may adhere to up to 5 primary designations which may or may not require formal certification from an independent third party. The fact that an enzyme is eligible for a specific designation does not imply that it meets the requirements for that designation. Please read information provided with each product for definitive information. The below overview reflects typical certification of coagulants & dairy enzymes in Chr Hansen's portfolio. Certifications from other manufacturers may be different.

Table of coagulants and dairy enzymes

  1. Selected products only
  2. Products produced with GMO under contained conditions. They are not considered GMO according to EU legislation, but are not suitable for ‘Ohne GM’ according to German legislation.
  3. Thermolase is considered to be suitable for organic cheeses in a limited number of countries. Please contact us for more information.

Kosher

Kosher products are products which conform to the Jewish Halakhic legal framework. There are four categories of kosher food:

  • Kosher meat: Kosher slaughter using animals with split hooves which chew their cud, including cows, goat and lamb. Chicken and turkey are Kosher while fowl and carnivorous animals are not.  

  • Kosher dairy: Milk and milk products such as cheese, cream and butter made from Kosher animals are Kosher dairy. Kosher milk products may not be mixed with meat or fowl. 

  • Kosher pareve: Neutral products such as fruits and vegetables are considered Kosher pareve. Fish with fins and scales are also Kosher pareve. 

  • Kosher passover: During passover, Jewish law forbids consumption of leavened products, legumes and grains when not consumed within a certain period of time after preparation. Products certified

  • Kosher passover must be approved separately from other Kosher products. 

Halal

Halal products are products approved for consumption under Islamic dietary guidelines. In practical terms, Halal-certified dairy enzymes may not be derived from pork and must be done in a manner approved by an independent certifying authority. Techniques used for the production of non-animal derived products (such as Fermentation-Produced Chymosin) must also be Halal-certified.

Vegetarian

Vegetarian products are products which exclude meat, poultry and seafood. A vegetarian diet may or may not allow inclusion of animal-derived products such as dairy and eggs. 
Veganism excludes consumption of all animal-derived products while lacto- and ovo-lacto vegetarians consume dairy products such as cheese and yogurt. Dairy products suitable for lacto- and ovo-lacto vegetarian diets must be manufactured using vegetarian ingredients. 

While microbial and Fermentation-Produced coagulants are suitable for vegetarian products, animal-derived dairy enzymes such as animal rennet and animal lipases are not. Use of animal rennet in many DOP and AOC cheeses such as Parmigiano-Reggiano and Gruyere, required by law, make these products unsuitable for vegetarians.

Organic

Organic products are products which exclude the use of inputs such as pesticides, chemical fertilizers and food additives. Although organic certification varies according to jurisdiction, organic products produced with the aid of GM technology may not be certified Organic. Thus, products such as Fermentation-Produced Chymosin and YIELDMAX® may not be used in organic end-products. The acceptance of additives in enzyme products varies to jurisdiction and certifier. In Europe it is typically allowed, in the US normally not.

GMO status

Genetically-modified organisms (GMOs) are organism whose genetic material has been altered using genetic engineering techniques. Many food and medical enzymes and additives such as citric acid, fructose, lipases and Fermentation-Produced Chymosins are produced using GMO technology because of higher production efficiency, highly controlled product quality and in some cases also due to certifications. 

Although (most) enzymes and additives are produced with the assistance of GM technology, the products are not themselves genetically modified and are separated from the GM production organism. As a result, all Chr. Hansen enzymes are considered GMO-free.  

In any case, care needs to be taken with regards to the labelling of the final food products, as in some countries local laws or voluntary standards limit the use of enzymes produced with GMO. One example is the ‘Ohne Gentechnik’ which does not allow the use of GMO produced enzymes according the German legislation.

Share this with: